Hamilton wins 7th Canadian Grand Prix after Vettel's time penalty

Ferrari finally crossed the finish line first this season, and it still wasn’t enough.

Sebastian Vettel controlled Sunday’s Canadian Grand Prix, but a controversial five-second time penalty for re-entering the track unsafely saw Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton secure the win after he finished just 1.342 seconds behind the German at the checkered flag.

Hamilton equals Michael Schumacher’s record by grabbing his seventh career victory at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, and in the process extends his lead over teammate Valtteri Bottas atop the drivers’ championship.

Charles Leclerc, meanwhile, finished third.

More to come.

This content was provided by The Score

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.